Anatomy of the Human Heart

Anatomy of the Human Heart, human heart, human body

The Human Heart

The human heart is known to have 4 chambers, namely:  the atria or the 2 upper chambers and the ventricles or otherwise known as the lower 2 chambers. There are 2 sides of the heart; the left which is comprised of the left atrium and left ventricle; and the right side which is the right atrium and right ventricle combined. The two sides of the heart is separated by the septum which is a wall of muscle.

The outer part of the heart is encased in pericardium which is a double walled sac that also helps protect it and makes sure the heart stays in place in the chest. The pericardium has 2 layers which are the parietal pericardium (outer) and the pericardial pericardium (inner). Whenever the diaphragm and lungs move and contract, the pericardial fluid is released and lubricates these layers.

The weight of an average human heart is between 250 to 350 grams or 9 to 12 ounces respectively and may be the size of a large human fist.

The heart’s outer wall is comprised of 3 layers:

  • Epicardium (outer layer)
  • Pericardium (inner layer)
  • Myocardium (middle layer)

The inner layer of the heart or otherwise known as the endocardium is a lining where there is contact with the blood

Valves of the heart:

  • Tricuspid valve
  • Mitral valve
  • Semi-lunar valve
  • Aortic valve

These valves are connected to the heart via the heartstrings or chordae tendinae

Image source :
Original size : 346×346 Pixels
Visited : 1291
Published : 20 Jul 2013
Category : Anatomy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>